You are here: Home Events Anaerobic Soil Disinfestation to Control Soil Borne Pathogens: Current Research Findings and On-farm Implementation

Anaerobic Soil Disinfestation to Control Soil Borne Pathogens: Current Research Findings and On-farm Implementation

What
  • Learning
  • Gardening Techniques and Growing
  • Webinar
When Feb 18, 2014
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Where Webinar- Online
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for a new webinar on Anaerobic Soil Disinfestation by Carol Shennan and Joji Muramoto of the University of California Santa Cruz. The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. The webinar takes place on February 18, 2014 at 3:30PM Eastern Time (2:30PM Central, 1:30PM Mountain, 12:30PM Pacific Time). The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. Audience members will be able to type in questions which will be read to the speaker.

Register now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/608445017

About the Webinar

In the webinar we will briefly review the development and use of anaerobic soil disinfestation (ASD) techniques for control of soil borne pathogens in various crops and regions around the world, and then focus on the current state of knowledge and use of ASD in California primarily for strawberry production. We will discuss the latest research findings relating to the efficacy of the technique, mechanisms underlying disease suppression, and our experience with growers using the technique in their own operations.

About the Presenters

Dr Carol Shennan is a professor in the Environmental Studies Department at the University of California Santa Cruz. She has been working on issues of agricultural sustainability for many years in the US and abroad, focusing most recently on crop rotation, soil fertility and disease management in organic strawberry and vegetable production systems in coastal California.

Dr. Joji Muramoto is an associate researcher at the Department of Environmental Studies, University of California, Santa Cruz. He is a soil scientist/agroecologist specializing fertility and soilborne disease management in organic strawberries and vegetables in the coastal California.

 

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy