You are here: Home Events Biologically Based Organic Management Strategies for Spotted Wing Drosophila

Biologically Based Organic Management Strategies for Spotted Wing Drosophila

What
  • Learning
  • Gardening Techniques and Growing
  • Webinar
When Feb 11, 2014
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Where Webinar- Online
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for a webinar on biologically based organic management strategies for Spotted Wing Drosophila. The webinar will take place on February 11, 2014 at 2PM Eastern Time (1 PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). The webinar is free and open to the public and advance registration is required. Attendees will be able to type in questions for the presenters.

Register now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/720633376

About the Webinar


The webinar will cover the biology and management of spotted wing Drosophila, a recent pest of berry and cherry crops across the United States, and the unique challenges and approaches that are relevant for organic producers. The presenters will provide the latest research-based information on what is known about its life-cycle and ability to survive in a range of climates; the current knowledge of biological and cultural controls that can be employed to reduce the pressure from SWD; and the efficacy of certified organic approaches for its control.

Find all upcoming and recorded eOrganic webinars at http://www.extension.org/pages/25242

About the Presenters

Vaughn Walton of Oregon State University focuses on resolving  key entomological industry needs in the Pacific Northwest with a current focus on Spotted Wing Drosophila, Brown Mamorated Stink Bug, mealybugs and sustainable pest management in hazelnut orchards. He aims to provide environmentally sustainable and minimal impact pest management strategies for agriculturalists in Oregon and further afield.

Dr. Rufus Isaacs is a Professor of Entomology at Michigan State University and is also the berry crops extension specialist for the state. He directs an applied research and extension program aimed at improving insect management in the many small fruit farms of the state. His lab works on projects related to insect pests, beneficials, and pollinators, and research results are extended to growers through various on-farm, online, conference, and print venues.

Hannah Burrack of North Carolina State University studies  the biology and management of insect pests and pollinators in blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, grapes, and tobacco.  The main goal of her research is to determine how insects select host plants and to develop strategies to prevent or reduce their feeding. She and her colleagues work with a wide range of growers and Extension agents to deliver recommendations based on the results of their work.

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy