You are here: Home Events Bovine Milk Fats: A Look at Organic Milk

Bovine Milk Fats: A Look at Organic Milk

— filed under:

Join eOrganic for an organic dairy webinar on Tuesday, December 18, 2012 at 2 PM Eastern Time (1 PM Central, 12 PM Mountain, 11 AM Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public. Space is limited and advance registration is required.

What
  • Webinar
When Dec 18, 2012
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Where Online
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

About the Webinar

Investigation of bovine milk fats has been and continues to be of interest to farmers, dairy scientists, and consumers alike, especially in light of how milk contributes to our health. For example, one fatty acid found in milk fat--conjugated linoleic acid (CLA)--has been well researched and is widely recognized for its anticarcinogenic properties. Omega-3 fatty acids may prevent Type 2 diabetes and coronary heart disease. These and other milk fatty acids have been the subject of research by Gillian Butler and her team at Newcastle University. Milk composition is dynamic and varies with stage of lactation, age, breed, nutrition, energy balance and health status of the udder, Butler has been examining these attributes, particularly the impact of different feeding under organic and conventional production systems. In this webinar, she will share some of her results and how they may affect the organic dairy community. Generally organic milk has a ‘better’ fat profile but not in all cases, and there is scope for further improvement.

About the Presenter

Gillian Butler is a Senior Lecturer and Livestock Project Manager at the Nafferton Ecological Farming Group at Newcastle University in the United Kingdom (UK). In addition to teaching undergraduate and post grad students a range of dairy and livestock production topics, she has worked with livestock farmers for more than 30 years primarily on feeding, forage production and quality. Her research interests consider management under organic and low input dairy production and their effect on milk quality. Gillian is also a member of the UK's Soil Association (an Organic Charity and largest organic certification body in the UK) Farmer Grower Board and a committee member of Northumberland Organic Producers Group.

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy