You are here: Home Events Breeding and Genetics: Considerations for Organic Dairy Farms

Breeding and Genetics: Considerations for Organic Dairy Farms

— filed under: , ,

In this webinar, we will address breeding and genetic considerations on organic dairies, including an evaluation of breeds common to organic dairy farms (calving, production, components, and economic performance), the latest research on cross breeding, and considerations for your farm.

What
  • Specialty Classes
  • Webinar
  • Learning
When Jun 19, 2012
from 11:00 am to 12:15 pm
Where Online
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for a webinar on Breeding and Genetics: Considerations for Organic Dairy Farms by Brad Heins of the University of Minnesota. The webinar will take place on June 19, 2012 from 2 pm to 3:15 pm Eastern time (1 - 2:15 pm Central, 12 - 1:15 pm Mountain, 11 am - 12:15 pm Pacific time). The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. Listeners will hear the speaker and be able to view the PowerPoint presentation.

Register now at http://www.extension.org/pages/63504

About the Workshop

In this webinar, we will address breeding and genetic considerations on organic dairies, including an evaluation of breeds common to organic dairy farms (calving, production, components, and economic performance), the latest research on cross breeding, and considerations for your farm.

About the Presenter

Brad Heins is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Animal Science at the University of Minnesota, focusing on organic dairy production. Dr. Heins received his M.S. and Ph.D. at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. He worked with seven dairy farms (organic and conventional) in California that were crossbreeding, and followed the progress of cows, measuring their performance, health, and longevity. Currently, Dr. Heins conducts his research at the University of Minnesota’s West Central Research and Outreach Center (WCROC). The Center has a 100-head herd in a certified organic system, and a 130-head herd in a conventional grazing system. Besides Holsteins, WCROC has been crossbreeding cattle with Jersey, Swedish Red, Norwegian Red, Montbeliarde, Normande, and New Zealand Friesian. He also serves on the Minnesota Organic Advisory Task Force.

Find all upcoming and archived eOrganic webinars, including many other presentations on organic dairy farming at http://www.extension.org/pages/25242

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy