You are here: Home Events Breeding and Genetics: Considerations for Organic Dairy Farms - Webinar

Breeding and Genetics: Considerations for Organic Dairy Farms - Webinar

— filed under:

This webinar addresses breeding and genetic considerations on organic dairies, including an evaluation of breeds common to organic dairy farms (calving, production, components, and economic performance), the latest research on cross breeding, and considerations for your farm.

What
  • Webinar
When Jun 19, 2012
from 11:00 am to 12:15 pm
Where Online
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for this webinar on June 19, 2012 from 2 pm to 3:15 pm ET (1 - 2:15 pm Central, 12 - 1:15 pm Mountain, 11 am - 12:15 pm Pacific time). The webinar is free and open to the public. Advance registration is required. Listeners will hear the speaker and be able to view the PowerPoint presentation.

This webinar addresses breeding and genetic considerations on organic dairies, including an evaluation of breeds common to organic dairy farms (calving, production, components, and economic performance), the latest research on cross breeding, and considerations for your farm.

Brad Heins is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Animal Science at the University of Minnesota, focusing on organic dairy production. Dr. Heins received his M.S. and Ph.D. at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities. He worked with seven dairy farms (organic and conventional) in California that were crossbreeding, and followed the progress of cows, measuring their performance, health, and longevity. Currently, Dr. Heins conducts his research at the University of Minnesota’s West Central Research and Outreach Center (WCROC). The Center has a 100-head herd in a certified organic system, and a 130-head herd in a conventional grazing system. Besides Holsteins, WCROC has been crossbreeding cattle with Jersey, Swedish Red, Norwegian Red, Montbeliarde, Normande, and New Zealand Friesian. He also serves on the Minnesota Organic Advisory Task Force.

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy