You are here: Home Events Breeding efforts and cover crop choices for improved organic dry bean production systems in Michigan

Breeding efforts and cover crop choices for improved organic dry bean production systems in Michigan

What
  • Learning
  • Gardening Techniques and Growing
  • Webinar
When Mar 25, 2014
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Where Webinar
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for a webinar on Breeding Efforts and Cover Crop Choices for Improved Organic Dry Bean Production Systems in Michigan. The webinar takes place on March 25, 2014 at 2PM Eastern Time, 1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time. The webinar is free and open to the public and advance registration is required. 

Reserve your Webinar Seat Now at:
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/539780376

About the Webinar

Michigan is the number one producer of organic dry beans in the nation. This webinar will share what we have learned at Michigan State University regarding dry bean breeding, variety selection, and cover crop influence on organically produced dry beans. The learning objectives of this webinar include understanding how variety selection may be a part of nitrogen fertility management, with some market classes being better suited to organic production than others, and how cover crop selection impacts soil fertility, weed management and dry bean yields.

About the Presenters

Jim Heilig and Erin Hill are both PhD students at Michigan State University in the Department of Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences. Jim’s research focuses on the genetics and enhancement of biological nitrogen fixation. Erin’s research focuses on weed ecology and management in conventional and organic dry bean production systems.

 

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy