You are here: Home Events Improving the Safety and Quality of Organic Leafy Greens Webinar

Improving the Safety and Quality of Organic Leafy Greens Webinar

What
  • Learning
  • Gardening Techniques and Growing
  • Webinar
When Feb 10, 2014
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Where Webinar- Online
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for a webinar on Improving the Safety and Quality of Organic Leafy Greens by Sadhana Ravishankar of the University of Arizona. The webinar takes place on February 10, 2014 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. Audience members will be able to type in questions which will be read to the speaker.

Register now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/639453584

About the Webinar

The objective of this webinar is to educate the audience on the ongoing organic leafy greens research at the University of Arizona. This webinar will cover the following: Attachment and biofilm formation of bacteria on organic leafy greens and leafy green wash water equipment surfaces; plant antimicrobial/organic sanitizer washes for organic leafy greens; edible films as interventions in bagged salads; and survival of pathogenic bacteria in organic composts and compost teas. Some of the outreach activities for leafy green producers will also be discussed.

Intended audience: Fresh produce growers and industry professionals; Extension agents/Outreach personnel; research scientists; academic faculty; students; regulatory personnel; consumers/general public and others interested in leafy greens research.

About the Presenter

Dr. Sadhana Ravishankar is an Assistant Professor at the department of Veterinary Science and Microbiology, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ. Currently her research focuses on controlling foodborne pathogens using various technologies and natural plant antimicrobials; improving the safety and quality of organic leafy greens; understanding the survival of foodborne pathogens on fresh produce, composts, and compost teas; attachment and biofilm formation of pathogens; ecology of foodborne pathogens in fresh produce growing environments; reducing pathogens and carcinogenic compounds in meats using plant antimicrobials; and stress response in foodborne pathogenic bacteria. She also teaches courses on Food Microbiology (MIC 430/530) and General Microbiology (MIC 205) to both graduate and undergraduate students at the University of Arizona.

 

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy