You are here: Home Events Integrating Livestock into Dryland Organic Crop Rotations

Integrating Livestock into Dryland Organic Crop Rotations

— filed under:

This webinar will cover a variety of reasons to integrate livestock into crop rotations, and will be summarizing past research on the topic. It will be directed towards beginning growers interested in diversifying their income and crop rotations, towards educators and Extension workers, and towards a more general audience wanting to learn more about mixed crop-livestock systems.

What
  • Webinar
When Oct 22, 2013
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Where Online
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for a webinar on integrating livestock into organic crop rotations in the dryland Pacific Northwest. The webinar will take place on October 22, 2013 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). The webinar is free and open to the public and advance registration is required. Attendees will be able to type in questions for the speakers which will be read aloud at the end of the presentation.

About the webinar

This webinar will cover a variety of reasons to integrate livestock into crop rotations, and will be summarizing past research on the topic. It will be directed towards beginning growers interested in diversifying their income and crop rotations, towards educators and Extension workers, and towards a more general audience wanting to learn more about mixed crop-livestock systems.

Dr. Lynne Carpenter-Boggs is an Associate Professor in the Department of Crop and Soil Sciences at Washington State University. Her emphasis area is Sustainable and Organic Agriculture. Much of her work focuses on the understanding and management of beneficial soil microbial communities and processes, in the context of sustainable agroecosystem design.

Jonathan Wachter is a PhD student in soil science at Washington State University. His research is focused on understanding nutrient cycling and availability in organic mixed crop-livestock systems as compared to conventionally managed wheat farms.

System Requirements

PC-based attendees
Required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Macintosh®-based attendees
Required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer
Mobile attendees
Required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

Java needs to be installed and working on your computer to join the webinar. If you have concerns, please test your Java at http://java.com/en/download/testjava.jsp prior to joining the webinar. If you are running Mac OS X 10.5 with Safari, please be sure to test your Java. If it isn't working, please try Firefox (http://www.mozilla.com) or Chrome (http://www.google.com/chrome).

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy