You are here: Home Events Organic Blackberry Production: Tips Learned from an Ongoing Research Study

Organic Blackberry Production: Tips Learned from an Ongoing Research Study

What
  • Learning
  • Gardening Techniques and Growing
  • Webinar
When Mar 13, 2014
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Where Webinar- Online
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for a Webinar on organic blackberry production, presented by Bernadine Strik and Luis Valenzuela of Oregon State University and David Bryla of the USDA ARS in Corvallis, Oregon. The webinar is free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. It takes place on March 13, 2014 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). Audience members will be able to type in questions for the speakers.

Register now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/363427577

About the Webinar

The learning objectives of this webinar include the impacts of weeds on blackberry growth and yield; methods for weed control; fertigation for planting establishment; the effects of post-harvest irrigation on productivity, plant water status and soil moisture; and root growth in blackberry. While this webinar focuses on trailing blackberry, grown predominantly for a machine-harvested, processed market, the outcomes of this study are also of importance in the production of other types of blackberry.

About the Presenters

Dr. Bernadine Strik is a Professor of Horticulture and Extension Berry Crops Specialist at Oregon State University. She does research on whole plant physiology and production systems of all berry crops. Dr. Strik’s areas of focus include improving yield and quality, machine harvest efficiency, alternative production practices, plant nutrition, pruning and training, season extension or manipulation, and organic production systems.

Dr. David Bryla is a Research Horticulturist at the USDA-ARS Horticultural Crops Research Unit in Corvallis, Oregon. He does research on variety of small fruit crops, including blueberry, blackberry, raspberry, strawberry, cranberry, and wine grape. The overall goal of his research is to understand the physiological response of these crops to environmental limitations and to use the information to develop improved and sustainable production practices.

Dr. Luis Valenzuela is a postdoctoral research associate at Oregon State University. He got his PhD in Horticulture at Penn State in 2008. Since then he has been working studying the root dynamics of several berry crops in the Pacific Northwest.

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy