You are here: Home Events Organic Dairy Forages Webinar this Thursday May 23

Organic Dairy Forages Webinar this Thursday May 23

What
When May 23, 2013
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for a webinar on Organic Dairy Forages: Focus on Summer Annuals by Heather Darby of the University of Vermont and Rick Kersbergen of the University of Maine. The webinar takes place this Thursday, May 23, 2013 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 noon Mountain, 11 am Pacific Time). The webinar is free and open to the public.  Advance registration is required. Register now at http://www.extension.org/pages/68106

About the Webinar

Summer annual forages--including millet, sorghums, sorghum-sudans, and teff-- can be important complements to pastures during the summer slump as well as harvested for stored feed. Join Heather Darby and Rick Kersbergen as they discuss strategies for planting, harvesting, and feeding these forages to organic dairy cattle.

About the Presenters

Heather Darby is an agronomist at the University of Vermont Extension where she conducts applied research and outreach on farm-based fuel, forage, and grain production systems in New England. Heather's research has focused on traditional and niche crop variety trials, weed management strategies, and cropping systems development. Her farmer outreach programs have focused on soil health, nutrient management, organic grain and forage production, and oilseed production. In addition, Heather leads the eOrganic dairy team and also operates a certified organic farm with her husband in northern Vermont.

 

Rick Kersbergen is an Extension Professor at the University of Maine Cooperative Extension. Rick has been conducting research and extension programs related to sustainable dairy and forage systems since 1987. He is currently involved with several multi-state, applied research projects on cover crops, organic grains production, and forage and nutrient management. He is past chair of the Northeast Pasture Consortium and manages the regional website as a compendium of grazing information for the region.

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy