You are here: Home Events Organic Pastured Poultry Nutrition Webinar

Organic Pastured Poultry Nutrition Webinar

— filed under: ,

What
  • Webinar
  • Learning
When Nov 05, 2013
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

A Novel Nutritional Approach to Rearing Organic Pastured Broiler Chickens

Join eOrganic for a webinar on a nutritional approach to rearing organic pastured broiler chickens by Michael Lilburn of the Ohio State University. The webinar will take place on November 5 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). Registration is free and open to the public and advance registration is required.

 

Register at http://www.extension.org/pages/69713

About the webinar

On small scale organic farms, novel grains and pastured organic broiler chickens could be valuable additions to a multi-year organic rotation program. The chickens would contribute to soil fertility and novel cereal grains produced on the farm could help reduce the cost of organic poultry feed in subsequent years. One such novel grain is naked oats which have been studied extensively in Europe. Naked oats are higher in crude protein, methionine, and lysine when compared with corn and thus would contribute higher levels of methionine to the complete diet. This webinar will discuss naked oats as an ingredient and the results from experiments in which pastured organic broilers (commercial, RedBros) have been fed diets containing 75% naked oats.

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy