You are here: Home Events Trap cropping in organic strawberries to manage lygus bugs in California

Trap cropping in organic strawberries to manage lygus bugs in California

— filed under: ,

What
  • Webinar
  • Learning
When Dec 03, 2013
from 11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Where Webinar- Online
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

Join eOrganic for a webinar on using alfalfa for trap cropping in organic strawberries, by Diego Nieta of the University of California Santa Cruz. The webinar takes place on December 3, 2013 at 2PM Eastern Time (1PM Central, 12PM Mountain, 11AM Pacific Time). It's free and open to the public, and advance registration is required. Attendees will be able to type in questions for the presenter.

Register now at: https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/142858312

About the Webinar

Diego Nieto will discuss the rationale for using alfalfa trap crops in organic strawberries will be discussed. Points of emphasis will include the efficient and targeted approach to pest management, improved classical biological control and predator dispersion and behavior. Along with research findings from recent studies, this presentation will include grower recommendations for the implementation of trap cropping.

About the Presenter

Diego Nieto is an entomological researcher at the University of California, Santa Cruz, where he has worked to address pest issues in commercial agriculture for 12 years.  He has researched biological control, farmscaping and integrated pest management in cotton, broccoli, Brussels sprouts and strawberries.

System Requirements

PC-based attendees
Required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Macintosh®-based attendees
Required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer
Mobile attendees
Required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet
 

 

More information about this event…

powered by Plone | site by Groundwire Consulting and served with clean energy