The maximum reimbursement is 75 percent (or up to $750) of certification costs per USDA National Organic Program certification scope, including application fees, certification fees and inspection costs. Eligible certification scopes include: crops, wild harvest, livestock, processing, and handling. Reimbursements will be made on a first-come, first serve basis until all funds have been disbursed, or the grant period ends.
Once you (e.g., a single scope operation such as only crop certification) have spent $1,000 on certification fees, even if prior to your inspection costs, you can apply for cost share. You have maxed out on reimbursement at this point and need not delay in submitting your application. Multi-scope operations (e.g., crop and livestock certifications) are eligible to be refunded for additional costs.
All applicants must submit the following documentation to be eligible for cost share reimbursement:
- A completed organic cost share reimbursement application form
- Organic certificate with date, certification number, and name of certifier
- Itemized invoice detailing certification fees that have been marked “paid”
- Financial forms as required by FSA
Operations with suspended or revoked certifications are ineligible for reimbursement.
Incomplete applications will not be accepted. The application process will differ slightly depending on location — if using a state department of agriculture, or if accessing the Farm Service Agency.
Oregon Tilth is happy to provide copies of invoices for fees paid and certificates (when applicable) for the clients we certify. Contact us at any time for assistance.
The USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) has announced the availability of approximately $11.5 million for organic certification cost-share assistance for organic producers and handlers through state departments of agriculture.
The application deadline is different for each state. For information, please be in contact with your county FSA office.
For clients that renewed certification
For those who renewed their organic certification and have paid their certification and inspection fees, you only need to provide proof of payment for eligible fees between from October 1, 2018, through September 30, 2019.
Renewing clients can and should use your existing certificate — the USDA does not require you to submit a newly issued certificate in the cost share packet, only a copy of paid invoices by your state’s deadline. Any certificate issued in the past 18 months is accepted with your application.
For new clients
For those that applied for certification for the first time, you must provide proof of payment for all eligible incurred costs and receive your certification before September 30, 2019.
FSA application process
To apply through FSA, you can find an FSA county office near you with the Service Center Locator. The FSA OCCSP application form is available at USDA’s eForms site, by selecting “Browse forms” and entering “OCCSP” in the “title or keywords” field on the search page.
Selected state application process
For some organic producers, you can still apply for cost share funds via your state department of agriculture. Check to see if your state has a program.
As of July 23, 2019, the Oregon Department of Agriculture has not posted the cost share application for interested organic producers. If you choose to work through your state instead of a regional FSA office, please first check to see if your State Department of Agriculture has made the 2019 application available: